4700 Dublin Ave., Midland MI 48642 | 989-633-3700 | Contact Us

Everett N. Luce Community Champion in Aging Services Award

Nominate a Luce Award Champion!

Each year, Senior Services presents the Everett N. Luce Award to an individual and organization for their leadership and contributions toward improving the quality of life for older adults in Midland County. You can recognize a community champion by nominating them for this award.

Renee Waldie accepting the Everett N. Luce Community Champion Award from Executive Director, Charlie Schwedler.

Dr. Everett Luce spearheaded the development of Midland County’s organized efforts to provide for the needs of older citizens, especially those in failing health or in impoverished circumstances. He led the team of local leaders who attended the first White House Conference on Aging in 1960. Returning with determination to make a real difference in the quality of life for seniors, Dr. Luce and his colleagues established the Midland County Committee on Aging. Under his leadership, within a few years the committee was incorporated as the Midland County Council on Aging (known as Senior Services), launching the organization that now serves 2,500+ County seniors a year.

About the Awards

Chippewa Nature Center receiving the Everett N. Luce Community Champion Award. From left: Jamie Hockstra, Cathy Devendorf, Dennis Pilaske and Charlie Schwedler, Senior Services Executive Director.

Everett N. Luce Community Champion Award for Individuals seeks to recognize an individual who has demonstrated outstanding leadership and advocacy toward improving community conditions or services provided to older Midland County residents.

Everett N. Luce Community Champion Award for Group or Organization seeks to recognize a community organization or business which champions senior causes and has made positive contributions to improve the lives of seniors in Midland County.

Possible nominees could be any business or organization that goes above and beyond for the older population in Midland County: Senior housing administrators, department stores, restaurants, business owners, attorneys, estate planners, community activity centers, banks, volunteers, service organizations, event organizers, etc. Senior Services employees and volunteers are not eligible for the award.

Past winners have included Cliff Miles, Midland Community Center, Yvonne Corbat, Midland Daily News, Joseph Lubbehusen, Gene Susalla, Creative 360, Laura Kubit, The Diaper Alliance, Coffee Chaos, Midland Fire Department, Arnold Center, Chris Shirk, Ross Ahlich, Marilyn Greene, Weese Project Motivations, Angela Cole, Midland County Health Department, Trudy Laufner, Chippewa Nature Center and Renee Waldie.

Submit a nominee using the form below by October 2, 2023.



Sign up for our free eNews and receive up-to-date information delivered directly to your email’s inbox! 


Online Registrations Made Easy

by Jacob Sinacola, Information Systems Administrator We’ve all seen it. After walking out of an engaging presentation, you head to the front desk to sign-up for the next course and what do you see? A long line of people that had the exact same idea. Soon you can skip...

read more

Contact us

4700 Dublin Ave., Midland MI 48642
Contact Us

4700 Dublin Ave., Midland MI 48642
Contact Us

Accessibility Toolbar